Representatives of the colonial parliaments, 1890

Representatives of the colonial parliaments at the Australasian Federal Conference, Melbourne, February 1890. Standing, left to right: AI Clarke (Vic); Captain Russell, Colonial Secretary (New Zealand); Samuel Griffith (Qld); Sir Henry Parkes (NSW); T Playford (SA); Alfred Deakin, Chief Secretary (Vic); Stafford Bird, Treasurer (Tas); GH Jenkins, Secretary to the Conference. Seated, left to right: William McMillan, Colonial Treasurer (NSW); John Hall (New Zealand); JM Macrossan, Colonial Secretary (Qld); Duncan Gillies, Premier of Victoria and Chairman of the Conference; John Cockburn (SA); James Lee-Steere (WA).

NAA: A1200, L13363